No-Boil Berliner Weiss no. 1

Last week I had a day off, so I decided to brew up a no-boil Berliner Weiss.   Not only was this my first try at the style, but it was my first attempt at decoction mashing.  Traditionally Berliner Weiss’ are very low in IBU’s, in the 3-7 range.  So, since this is a no-boil, I pulled 3.94 qts. (about a gallon) from the mash to boil for the decoction, and added the hops in with that.  Despite boiling for around 20 minutes, I undershot my target saccharification temp (154) by about 10 degrees.  Fortunately I had some hot water ready to add to get it up to temp.  I made a starter with WYeast Lactobacillus and a quart of apple cider a few days before brewing.  Lactobacillus loves simple sugars, hence the apple cider.  It also loves warm temps, so it sat next to my heating vent.  I let the wort cool on it’s own to 90 degrees, then pitched the Lacto starter.  The picture above is of some very active Lacto at work.  2 days later I pitched a packet of US-05 to finished out the fermentation.

Malt/Fermentables:

3lbs. Weyermann Pilsner

3lbs. Wheat malt

SG: 1.032

Target FG: 1.006

1oz. Saaz added during decoction.

Here’s the mash schedule from BeerSmith:

Mash Steps

Name Description Step Temperature Step Time
Protein Rest Add 12.00 qt of water at 142.2 F 133.0 F 35 min
Saccharification Decoct 3.83 qt of mash and boil it 154.0 F 45 min
Mash Out Add 0.00 qt of water and heat to 168.0 F over 10 min 168.0 F 10 min

Mash Notes: Used in some authentic German styles. Attempt to draw decoction from the thickest portion of the mash. Profiles vary. Some traditional German mashes use a long acid rest at 40 deg C. Also some sources recommend the decoction amount be given a 15 minute saccharification rest at 158 F (70 C) before boiling it.

 

I’ll let you know how it turns out!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

